27
Jan
10

The Buried Life

MTV's The Buried Life

I am not a fan of reality-TV. Anyone who knows me knows that shows like American Idol, Real World, and more recently, Jersey Shore, absolutely piss me the fuck off. Not only can I not stand to watch them even to make fun of them, but when I woke up at 3 p.m. in a Miami hotel to a Jersey Shore marathon, and my friend out of the room without shutting it off, I swore my I.Q. dropped 4 points.

One show however, has me rethinking the concept of reality TV. MTV’s The Buried Life, (I know, its MTV, but every now and then, they come out with something decent to watch), is about four guys who make their own bucket list, made up of 100 things to do before they die. The catch, with everything they cross off their list, they help a stranger cross off something on theirs.

SPOILER ALERT!!!

The first episode I saw, was about the guys crashing a wedding (something that’s been on my list since Wilson and Vaughn seemed to set the trend for crashing weddings). However, they took it a step further, by attempting to make a toast at the wedding they crash. In that same episode, they met a man who had not seen his son in 17 years. The only memory of his now college-aged son, is the photograph that he still keeps in his wallet from when his son was two years old.

This got me to thinking about my dad. Those who know our relationship now, would be surprised to hear that we didn’t talk for almost a year, (long story, for a different blog). However, fast-forward a few years and you can find my dad and myself just about every Sunday at a bar down on McLean. I can’t imagine not having that kind of relationship, or worse– not seeing him for 17 years.

TBL, (The Buried Life, and The Bucket List– also another great flick to check out), has inspired me to make my own bucket-list. Maybe not one as long, but definitely made up of things both selfishly entertaining, and selflessly helpful towards others.

If you’ve caught the show, which airs Monday’s at 10 p.m. let me know what you think? Another documentary-gone teen drama, or is MTV actually on to something? If you haven’t, definitely check it out.

2 Responses to “The Buried Life”


  1. January 27, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Has anyone started a list of their own?


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Matt’s Tweets

  • One of these days I'll watch Forrest Gump so I know why all these jokes I've been repeating for years get so many laughs. #LtDan #SeatsTaken 7 hours ago
  • @Conasabi Learn something new and useless everyday, thanks! 7 hours ago
  • Am I the only person who doesn't understand why winter has been coming for seven years now? #WhatsGoT? 8 hours ago
  • Weddings and birthdays are done for this week. Time for a much needed detox. 14 hours ago
  • Another weekend, another wedding. Time to celebrate love! 🍾 1 day ago

