09
Nov
09

Just Another Piece of Plastic

Strings on PlasticCigarettes, Jameson, and various numbers on the clock that say it’s sometime after 5 a.m. all sit in front of me, and I can’t figure out why I was so mad tonight. (Did someone slip me gin?) After going out for what is always supposed to be just a beer, I finally just got the hangover, (that I should have been sleeping through) but rather, spent the past hour and si(cks)x minutes on the phone with someone from home. (Sicks because I never spend that much time on the phone, with anyone).

Anyway we were talking about music again, and I thought to myself, What makes a good mix? I’m not sure if it’s the music or the mood you’re in when you listen to the mix. If someone gives you a mix, chances are you cant wait to hear the whole thing beginning of every song on the CD—you want to know what songs they the mixer thought you the listener would like. However, after you know what the flat reflective donut contains, what keeps it on your car’s stereo versus becoming just another piece of plastic in your back seat?

I’ve recently received a mix from the same person whose mix I’ve criticized before.“Fell in Love With a Girl” by The White Stripes was on there, and O.K. yeah it’s not new, and it does kind of fall under a classic being that everyone’s heard it, but it does generalize the tone of the mix. It’s a fun, light, listen to while you’re driving, or dancing in your underwear kind of mix, and it’s pretty groovy.

Now check out “Substitution” by the Silversun Pickups. It’s something you can rock out to, and the first song on the new mix of songs new and old I’m currently working on. You can check out the song and video here.

One final thought, musical soul mates. Is it possible to totally get someone through music? Guy /girl, brother/sister, friend/lover, do we connect on an unknown level when music is involved? I know there are a few people who have surprised me with their musical tastes. Even some who I didn’t like at fist, but the music brought us together. What is so hypnotizing about music that it hits a spot in our core, that we don’t even know exists? Let me know what you think, or if just drunk right now. Also, I’m going start posting a check this band/song/or something video at the end of every post. So be sure to stay current with your music new and old. For this week, let’s shine some light on, (another song from the working mix) Pete Yorn and Scarlett Johansson in Relator.

Now as many of you know, music and bars are two of the biggest parts of my life. I’m looking for live music gigs around Albany and White Plains. If you’re good, I’ll deffinately blog about it– if you’re really good and near Westchester, I might even put you in touch with my bar for some playing time. To the readers: let me know if there are bands you think I shouldn’t miss!

1 Response to “Just Another Piece of Plastic”


  1. 1 Jim
    November 12, 2009 at 3:29 am

    I agree with you on this, brother.
    Like, if someone likes Nikelback I hate them instantly.
    I don’t care if it’s the Pope. He gets 5 to the face if he likes Nickelback.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Matt’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


