06
Nov
09

Twenty Fuckin Seven! (and no it’s not my birthday)

NYY In attempts to capture the way Albany was prepared to celebrate the possible 27th World Series win for the Yankees, for a photojournalism assignment, I almost forgot that these pictures were being taken at bars. Yeah, that’s right– I went to the bar to do my homework, yet again. I don’t know if I subconsciously know that I apparently can’t set foot into a bar without having a few pints and a shot five shots of Jameson, or if it’s because I’ve grown up in bars all my life, so it’s where I feel most comfortable, but either way it always ends in a great assignment, with no recollection of actually doing it.

 

In the midst of my drunken attempt to capture the Yankee spirit of Albany on camera, I ended up meeting a few friends that led to a few more drinks. After bar-hoping across downtown and meeting some really cool blue-bleeding Yankee fans, we ended up at Legends. Throw in a few more pitchers and shots, and the Yankees clinched their 27th  World Championship. After a victory shot of Jameson, the photo project was complete. It was time to send out the mass text of “27 baby!!!”

 

Pat flippin Sox- post World Series win

A Yankee fan in Albany, NY, wont miss an opportunity to shit on the bo-Sox-- even after The Yankees won their 27th World Series Championship against the Phillies on Wednesday night November 4th, 2009 at The Recovery Room Sports Bar in downtown Albany. Photo by: Matt Murnane.

It wasn’t until minutes later, when I started getting text messages back saying “Happy Birthday!” Now, there’s a few things wrong with this. Everyone who knows me, knows I lie about my age at least once a week, (usually adding or subtracting one-three years, depending on what the situation calls for). However, they also know that I am no where near twenty-seven. Am I friends with that many people who don’t follow the Yankees? Or was everyone so shit-faced that they just saw the number and assumed not to be rude and throw a safety “Happy B-day” text my way?

 

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the picture… I saw a lot of people sporting Red Sox gear today, and someone told me people aren’t Phillies fans, they’re just anti-Yankee fans. And even after losing to the Angels in the first round of the playoffs, when we saw the Red Sox symbol painted on the wall of the first bar we hit, we couldn’t miss the opportunity to shit all over it.

 

Take the poll at the bottom of this page and let me know what you think about Baseball.

 

 

 

 

 

1 Response to “Twenty Fuckin Seven! (and no it’s not my birthday)”


  1. April 28, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well
    written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Matt’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


