29
Oct
09

The University of Bureaucracy

1137933_62532534-300x225

Today was a shitty day— literally and figuratively. It was forty degrees and raining pouring, so right off the bat, I didn’t want to get out of bed. After showering and heading to campus for a class I was about to skip, a douche bag in the left lane decided to merge into my lane. I don’t know what it was about my two-door black car with the headlights on and the horn blaring, but note to drivers—look before you merge! But even though I almost lost my door, the adrenaline rush was nice.

After missing a class to catch up on other work, I decided to sign up for classes. This is when I realized I only need to take four classes for my minor, and one for my major to graduate in May. I got the journalism class I needed, but all of the classes for my minor are completely full. I have one question, WHAT THE SHIT?!

I’m not saying I’m some great student, but I did put in enough of an effort to get out of here in four years. Don’t get me wrong, undergrad was a blast—but four years is an expensive enough party, and I’m trying to get some new experiences going.

So if they open up more classes I get somewhat priority on those because I’m a graduating senior. However, the chances of them opening up more than two or three are not great. The reason this is all happening is due to the budget cuts that the University at Albany, and all universities are facing right now. The struggling economy has caused colleges around to country to cut staff, overload classes with students, and make sections in departments smaller, (cut amount of classes).

Understanding the fact that it’s going to be difficult to find a job after college anyway, staying here is coasting too much. I feel like colleges don’t mind as much as the students because it’s that much more cash in their pockets. Think about it, it now takes the average student to graduate with a bachelor’s degree four and a half years. That extra semester can sometimes total around ten grand. Now multiply that by the number of students, and you’ve got some major funding for your university.

Bottom line, school is overpriced as it is. Why do we have to go through loans and scholarships to get a descent education in this country? Factor in tuition increases, and extra semesters, and it doesn’t seem fair that we’re not even guaranteed a way to pay it all back after we get that little piece of paper that says we did it.

Anyone experiencing similar problems with schedules or getting out in the expected four years?

0 Responses to “The University of Bureaucracy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Matt’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


