15
Oct
09

Atypical Wednesday

Current Track: Gravity- John Mayer

Let me start off by saying, the only thing typical about this (atypical)Wednesday is that I’ve been half-in-the-bag since lunch, or brunch if you want to get technical.

So Wednesday night… What else to say except I was in the three hour class that I dread going to, 6 and a half days out of the week.

Except, this Wednesday was different. We had guest speakers unlike most guest speakers I’ve ever had as a college student. Their names– Matt and Pete, their profession– bar operators. Obviously, there was an immediate personal connection to their subject matter, as I manage a bar myself. (One student asked Matt, “What advice would you give to people who want to open a restaurant?, to which Matt gave an acceptable and appropriate answer… I would have told him, “DON”T DO IT!!!”) But all jokes aside, Matt started this business not much older than me now, and runs it professionally and knowledgeably.

Point is, we had a bar owner/blogger talk to our class not like we were kids, (yeah Matt, in your blog you said KIDS, but I’m here to tell you, whatever we are, you spoke to us like people) which was respectful and amicable.

The interview/press conference feel the class had was really helpful in getting to know the speakers. Not only did we learn about where they were from, what they did and how they did it, we heard what they did in their spare time, how they feel about what they do, and even who they dated. In the hour or so they talked, and the nine hours we asked questions, (I’m sure it felt like nine for the speakers) there were more answers and information given in one Wednesday night class, than any other class I’ve taken at SUNY.

Cut to the bar a few hours later… and add into the equation a bottle of wine, a few pints of Guinness and about three or four shots of Jameson, (my holy water) and I’m feeling great. I see Pete from across the room, and decide it’s a good idea to introduce myself, and thank him for taking time out to come in and share something with the class. After admitting that I was half-in-the-bag during the class, we had a great conversation on what they had to overcome to actually speak in public. I thought to myself, what a coincidence, I have the same problem. Behind the bar, I can talk to anyone, carry myself like I’m the shit, and yes, my shit don’t stank. But put in front of a class or under a spotlight– and with a smile that’s generically painted on my face, I’m actually shitting bricks under the table.

Moral(s) of the story—keep an ear out and give props. Gotta admire the people who overcome their fears, even (and especially) when you don’t know what the fears they’re overcoming are. Ears open because, you never know if what someone has to say is worth listening to until you hear it. Whether the person speaking is a blogger, a restaurant owner, or a homless person in the park, chances are they’ve got words you haven’t heard.

Ok it’s time to write a paper and hit a bed bowl. AHHHH BEDDDD BOWLLLL… paper can wait till sobriety.

Current Track: Glass Onion- The Beatles

1 Response to “Atypical Wednesday”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    October 17, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Bed Bowl…ahahaha nice. cool post


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Matt’s Tweets

  • One of these days I'll watch Forrest Gump so I know why all these jokes I've been repeating for years get so many laughs. #LtDan #SeatsTaken 7 hours ago
  • @Conasabi Learn something new and useless everyday, thanks! 7 hours ago
  • Am I the only person who doesn't understand why winter has been coming for seven years now? #WhatsGoT? 8 hours ago
  • Weddings and birthdays are done for this week. Time for a much needed detox. 14 hours ago
  • Another weekend, another wedding. Time to celebrate love! 🍾 1 day ago

